top of page

United Nations: The Four Pillars of Learning

Updated: Mar 2, 2022

UNESCO (United Nations Education, Science and Culture Organisation) defines the four pillars of learning as fundamental principles for reshaping education:

1. Learning to know: to provide the cognitive tools required to better comprehend the world and its complexities, and to provide an appropriate and adequate foundation for future learning.

2. Learning to do: to provide the skills that would enable individuals to effectively participate in the global economy and society.

3. Learning to be: to provide self analytical and social skills to enable individuals to develop to their fullest potential psycho-socially, effectively as well as physically, for an all-round ‘complete person.

4. Learning to live together: to expose individuals to the values implicit within human rights, democratic principles, intercultural understanding and respect and peace at all levels of society and human relationships to enable individuals and societies to live in peace and harmony.

ASPNET - Association of schools

Peace Experiment is a ASPNET school, associated with the NETWORK of United Nations Schools. We acknowledge our heritage with Montessori Education and the work of the United Nations.

Maria Montessori was central to the formation of UNESCO, and contributed ideas and support

1,546 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page